Sunday, 17 June 2012

Previous winners of the Crystal Kite Awards

The Crystal Kite Awards (also known as Crystal Kite Members Choice Awards) are given by the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) each year to recognize great books from the seventy SCBWI regions around the world.

Along with the SCBWI Gold Kite Awards, the Crystal Kite Awards are chosen by other children’s book writers and illustrators. It makes these the only peer-given awards in publishing for young readers.

Each SCBWI member votes for their favourite book from a nominated author in their region that was published in the previous calendar year.

In Australia, author, Glenda Millard won the inaugural Crystal Kite Award in 2010 with her wonderful, award-winning book A Small Free Kiss in the Dark.

Glenda Millard
Claire Saxby

And in 2011, author, Claire Saxby won the award with her rollicky, humourous picture-book, There Was an Old Sailor. (Illustrator: Cassandra Allen)  

No comments:

Post a Comment